Marcus Blackmore AM

Marcus Blackmore was born in Queensland in 1945, received his high school education at Church of England Grammar School in Brisbane, and later gained a Naturopathic Diploma from the NSW College of Naturopathic Sciences. He served from 1969-1971 in the Australian Army with service in Vietnam. Marcus is also a member of Harvard Business School Alumni. His recreational interests are yacht racing and flying and he holds a private helicopter licence.

Marcus is currently the Chairman of Blackmores Ltd, a public company employing over 1000 people in Australia, New Zealand and Asia. The company markets the premium brands of vitamin and herbal products under the Blackmores, BioCeuticals and Fusion labels and is widely recognised for its ethical practices and its treatment of staff.

Marcus also holds the following positions :

  • Honorary Trustee, CEDA (Committee for the Economic Development of Australia)
  • Patron of Quest for Life Foundation
  • Former positions held :
  • Chairman, Defence Reserves Support Council
  • Director of the Young Endeavour Youth Scheme
  • Chairman, Heart Research Institute
  • Chairman, Southern Cross University Foundation 


  • Member of the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) (1998) - for service to business, industry and the community
  • National Australia Day Council Citizen of the Year for community service in 1994.
  • NFAA Lady Cilento Award for contribution to industry, 1981
  • NSW Government Premiers Award 1990 for community service
  • RiverCare 2000 Gold Award in 1995 by NSW Department of Land and Water Conservation
  • Paul Harris Fellow of the Rotary Club of Manly.
  • Honorary Doctor of Southern Cross University, 2006 ñ for distinguished leadership in the complementary medicines industry in Australia
  • Australian Traditional Medicine Society Hall of Fame, 2011
  • Honorary Fellow, Heart Research Institute, 2014
  • The BrandLaureate Brand Leadership Award, Nutraceutical Man of the Year, Malaysia 2015
  • Australia New Zealand Regional YPO Hall of Fame 2015
  • Honorary Doctrate of Letters ñ Western Sydney University 2017


Back to Patrons